It’s time for some movie reviews. I love movies! Movies and music keep me moving in through all aspects of life. Thought this would be a good addition to my musing. Some of these may be a day late and a dollar short but I am still going to give my two cents worth and maybe introduce someone to something they haven’t heard of.

Only Lovers Left Alive:

Keeping with the spirit of gothic vampires but with a twist, Only Lovers Left Alive is a very refreshing. All the actors in this movie deliver great performance especially Tilda Swinton and Tom Hiddleston who deliver a romantic haunting portrait of what eternity is like. The movie is dark and beautiful with tons of great imagery. I already know what people are going to say about this movie without even looking up other reviews, not enough depth of character. The characters in this movie have lots of beautiful depth. You just had to pay attention to the subtle hints, imagery and surroundings. Those little subtle hints the director/writer gave you to aid in building the layers these characters have. I like a movie where it is not all spelled out for you in black and white through narratives or drawn out dialogue. If you can’t read between the lines you’ll never be able to see all the wonderful shades of gray this movie has to offer. It is a calm cool movie that requires just sitting and observing the simple yet sophisticated scripted that is so visually laid out before you. The music in the movie is awesome. Can’t wait for the soundtrack!

 

American Hustle:

Love the curly 70’s hair that Bradley Cooper sports as well as the dedication that Christian Bale put into his role. Amy Adams stuns in her numerous plunging necklines. Other than that, the movie just did not entertain me. It seemed a lot longer than it needed to be. Do not get me wrong I like long movies…but only the kind that when it ends you did not realize it was over two hours. This movie dragged on and generally had a week story line. It had several seriously cool moments but those did not fill the gaps for me. The ending was very anticlimactic. I’m not saying it was bad but I’m not saying it was good. It was worth the one time watch but not a movie I will be purchasing or looking to watch again.

 

Robot and Frank:

This was a cute little film. It had its slow moments but overall enjoyable because the story was new and unique. I was into the characters and loved the connection that built between Frank and his caregiver robot. I love when a writer can make me fall for characters and root for them while giving the story a cute little twist. What else would a retired thief do with an intelligent robot but the obvious or maybe not? Good acting and had many familiar faces like Frank Langella, Susan Sarandon and Liv Tyler . It’s calm quiet and effective little indie movies bring me joy. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

